Book Review: Colorful Notions

Would you give up your high paying job and comfortable personal life to drive ten thousand kilometers across India? Just for fun!Three twenty-somethings dare to do just that! While the two boys take turns to drive, the girl gives voice-over as they record their entire journey on a handy cam.

I am not much of a fan of books by Indian authors. In fact, there are very few books that I have read and actually loved. So, the reason I signed up for the giveaway hosted by Mohit Goyal, for his book- Colorful Notions: The Road Trippers 1.0 was cause of the concept behind the book.

This book starts with the protagonists of the story-Abhay(Ab), Sashank(Sasha) and Unnati(Unns), setting out on a one of a kind journey of their lives. For Ab, who quit his high paying job, the aim is to pursue his passion of becoming a filmmaker by shooting their entire journey. Same goes for the other two- to rediscover their lives. The story progresses with the hardships they endure, the fun times they experience and the food and the people they come across, amidst their journey to visit 24 major cities all across India.

What lured me to this book was something the author said on the back cover of the book- “I doubted if I’d ever have the gumption to create such experiences. So I did the next best thing- I penned a book about them, and their road trip” If it wasn’t for this one statement, I probably would have passed on this book. Being a youngster who loves to travel the entire world, but always doubt its possibility, I could identify so much with the author.

And I really loved this book. The book is so full of life. It is not just about a journey over three months all through India, but also about love, friendship, life and most importantly – rediscovering oneself. And the author, Mohit Goyal has done a wonderful job of engaging his readers. But having said that, I also have to add that the author needs a really good editor. If the author already has an editor, do fire him/her cause he/she has done such a lousy job as an editor. I can easily point out some twenty spelling and grammatical errors. If not for these, the book would have been just really good.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to travel, dreams of traveling and has plans to go on a road trip with friends. Of course, this book ain’t only for travel buffs, anyone who wants to lift up their spirits should definitely read this book. It’s one of those books you finish reading and then just end up smiling to yourself for five minutes straight.

PS: I won this book in a giveaway hosted by the author on Goodreads.

