Before the beginning there was nothing- no earth, no heavens, no stars, no sky: only the mist world, formless and shapeless, and the fire world, always burning.

Being someone who has read very few books in the mythology genre, and having read none of the books by Neil Gaiman, I was unsure of what to expect from Norse Mythology. As I dived in to the mesmerising world of Norse gods, sans any apprehensions, boy was I baffled!

In this book, Neil Gaiman strings together some of the myths about the Norse gods, particularly about Odin, Thor and Loki, and transports the reader in to the world of gods, giants, power, wisdom, spells and what not! The author has done a spectacular job in retelling the myths in a subtle and most engaging manner. The book leaves you awestruck at the deeds of various Gods and the mischiefs of Loki leaves you at your wit’s end.

The book cover deserves a special mention. The cover is just so spectacular that I cannot possibly explain it in words. The black and gold themed cover featuring Thor’s hammer just glues you to it.

Also, I felt like the book ended too soon. It didn’t have a definitive ending, maybe it isn’t supposed to have one. The book would have been perfect if the ending was a tad bit different, but, that’s just my opinion.

Norse mythology is the kind of book that you can read on a cold Sunday morning, cozying up under some blankets, listening to the sound of rain outside and sipping some warm coffee. The book kind of reminded me of the fairytales I have read as a child and left me all smiles. I would recommend this to everyone, readers and non-readers alike.

